Use this feature to save your workflow as a template, so it can be more easily copied to other pages.
Open the Workflow Inspector
Choose Page Tools → Edit Workflow... to display the Workflow Inspector:
Choose Save as template and you'll be asked to confirm the name and description for your workflow:
The values from your workflow markup will be shown by default, they are defined as follows:
- Name – this comes from the
nameparameter of the
- Description – this comes from the macro body of the
You should always fill in both fields if possible, it's a good habit to get in to and makes life easier later on if you end up with lots of workflows. Any changes made to these properties here will be saved to the template. They will not appear in the workflow markup on the page.
Where does the template get saved to?
The template is saved to Page Workflows in Space Tools.
Using the template
Remember, however, that each time you add a workflow in Page Mode a new copy of the workflow is made rather than linking to the original:
- The benefit is that you can easily edit the workflow on a page or blog post and not affect anything else.
- The downside is that if you want to make the same changes across several pages or blog posts, you'll have to manually edit the workflow on each page/blog.
If you're planning to use the workflow on lots of pages, it might be worth switching to Space Mode which allows centralised management of the template and automatic application to content in your space.