Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.


Screen Location: Space Tools → Document Management → Document Management tab


Table of Contents
maxLevel2
minLevel2
absoluteUrltrue
excludeOverview
typeflat
separatorpipe

Overview

This screen allows space admins to choose whether the space runs in space mode or page mode, and, if running in space mode, which workflows to apply to all content in the space.

Image Modified


If there is one or more active workflows listed on the "Workflows Document Management Dashboard", the space is running in Space Mode, otherwise it's running in Page Mode.

You can view templates for available for users to apply in Page Mode by clicking choosing the Page Workflows  link Templates option on the Workflows Dashboard screenthe Space Workflows v dropdown menu.

In space mode:

Enabled

 if a global scope workflow is present then (and there is no content label filter) the global scope workflow will be applied to all content in the space. If no global scope workflow is present then

  • enabled space scope workflows (green tick slider icon) are automatically applied to all content in the space
  • If a workflow has filters (content and/or label parameters on the {workflow} macro), it will only be applied to content matching those filters
  • Workflows workflows are applied in the order in which they appear on the list Once in the dashboard
  • first listed workflow will take priority 
  • once a workflow has been applied to a piece of content, no other workflows will be considered for that piece of content
  • if a workflow has filters (content and/or label parameters on the {workflow} macro), it will only be applied to content matching those filters

Remember that ONLY one workflow can be active on an individual page or blog post at any one time. 

Add an existing

workflows

Click the "+ Add Workflow" button and choose from the available list of workflows.

workflow

The available workflows include those defined in Workflows - Global, and also any from Import - Space Tools.

Choose  + Add Workflow button (bottom of dashboard) to open the workflow picker.

Image Added

Select a workflow and choose Next.

Choose either

  • Link the Global Template (adds workflow as an active global scope workflow and cannot be edited by space admin)
  • Copy as Space Workflow (adds workflow as an inactive copy of the global template that can be edited by the space administrator for the space)

Image Added

If choosing Link to Global Template there is no option to Apply & Customize. The chosen global workflow template is only editable by the global administrator.

Choose Apply to add the workflow to the space.

Create a new workflow

There are two ways to In the Document Management Dashboard create a new workflow in the Workflows Dashboard:

Click the "

by

  • choosing the + Add Workflow
"
  • button
, then
  • choose
"Create your own workflow"From the Actions menu
  • +Create Workflow in the workflow picker

Workflow builder is opened in the space with a simple two state workflow

  • edit and name this workflow to create a new space scope workflow
  • choose Exit in workflow flow builder to add the new workflow to the space dashboard

A new workflow can also be created by the space admin by copying and editing an existing workflow in the Document Management Dashboard

  • choose the ellipsis option of an existing workflow in the workflow table
, click "Copy"

Workflows table

A mockup of the table is shown below, with some details about the various elements:
  • choose Copy
  • choose the ellipsis option for the copied workflow
  • choose Edit

Workflow builder is opened in the space with the copied workflow. Edit the workflow and choose Save then Exit to add the changes to the workflow in the dashboard.

Workflows dashboard listing

NameScope
Actions

Name of a Space scope

workflow Edit workflowImage Removed

Clicking on the or name to toggle description macro.

Space scope only: Hover over name to showEdit workflowImage Removed (edit workflow).

Image Removed Space

Actions MenuImage Removed

workflow 

Image Added

Click on the name to open the workflow inspector to view the description and the workflow visual flowchart.

Choose the tick slider icon to disable the workflow in the space.

Image Added

› Workflow with a label

Image Added

Image Added

This workflow specifies a label – it will only apply to content with that label.

status

Image Removed Space

Actions MenuImage Removed


Image Added

colorGreen
titlePublished


Image Added

› Global scope workflow

Image Added

You can use

workflows

a workflow defined at the global level.

If

As a space admin, if you want to edit a

Global

global scope workflow, you must make a copy of it and edit that.

Global

Actions MenuImage Removed

See available Page Workflows | 

You cannot disable a global scope workflow in the space. You can only Remove it from the space using the option in the ellipsis menu.

Image Added

See all available workflows for adding to the space  by choosing Workflows - Global ← Global link only shown if you are a Confluence Admin

View button

Only active workflows in the global workflows dashboard will be available to add to a space.


Ellipsis/Actions menu

Flowchart → Actions MenuImage Removed ← Menu with more options

Image Added

Option

What it does

As seen on...

ViewDisplays a flowchart of the workflowAll workflows

Edit

Opens the workflow editor.

See: Workflow Authoring Guide

Space
scoped workflowsActivateEnables a previously disabled workflow.Deactivated Space
scope
workflowsDisableDisables a currently active workflow.Active Space scoped workflows
workflow only
Initialize States

Allows you to force content using the workflow in to a specific state.


Any active workflow
CopyCreates a disabled Space scoped copy of the workflowAll workflows
Remove

Removes the workflow from the list (sometimes causing it to be deleted)

All workflows

Remove Warning

If you add a workflow to this screen by copying an existing workflow, or creating a new workflow, then removing it will actually delete it (because it only exists on the Document Management Dashboard).

You'll get a warning like this:

Image Removed

Image Added


No warning will be displayed if you choose to Remove a global scope workflow. The workflow is simply removed from the current space but the template is not deleted from the global workflows dashboard.