How to

How to Disable Share It for Certain Spaces

Go to the Share It global configuration menu (only global admins)

Under the Permissions section

Restrict by Space

  • move spaces between Allowed and Restricted lists by simply selecting and then using the arrows
  • Save the configuration settings once you have finished

There are no sharing options in the restricted spaces and existing links will be restricted.



Read-only mode

When read-only mode is enabled for the Confluence instance, sharing and/or removing links is not allowed.

  • the options for any user to create/delete shared page links are now hidden and only a global administrator in Global Configuration will have the option to delete currently activated links

However, viewing of shared versions of a shared page is allowed when read-only mode is enabled. When the shared link is opened the following actions are still performed

  • expiration for the link is checked before the shared page is rendered
  • the link view action is recorded (+1 to the shared link clicks)

(green star) Activating read-only mode does not affect link expiry. In read-only mode, existing shared link expirations expire on the date set when the link was created. The expired link is removed from a shared version of a page.


How to Enable the Functionality Only for a Group of Users

You can also restrict the users who can create these links by adding one or more Confluence user groups.

Go to the Share It configuration menu (only global admins)

Under the Permissions section

Restrict to Groups

  • add a Confluence user group to the Allowed Groups dialogue box
  • once a group is entered, select Add button

Added Confluence user groups are displayed as a lozenge below the dialogue box.

  • Save the configuration settings once you have finished

If a Confluence user group is added, then sharing is only allowed for that group (and admins). If there are no added Allowed Groups, then all users are allowed to create links.

This input field uses autocomplete to enable users to quickly find and select from the existing groups. Ensure that you select/add a valid Confluence user group.



(info)  If there are no groups added to the Restrict to Groups option, any new groups created in the instance are, by default, Allowed.

How to Force Expired Links Deletion

Only global admins. can force the deletion of expired links. Expired links are by default deleted once a day, at 23:00.

To force the deletion of expired links

  • go to Confluence Admin (<confluence>/admin/console.action)
  • scroll down  to Scheduled Jobs(<confluence>/admin/scheduledjobs/viewscheduledjobs.action)
  • in the displayed list of scheduled jobs scroll to Stop Sharing Expired Links

Options allow you to

  • disable the deletion of shared links
  • run it manually
  • check the shared link history including view actions
  • edit the shared links

If you edit it, just add your own Cron Expression.

How to Configure Sharing by Email

  1. You can disable email sharing unchecking its checkbox.
  2. Subject and body can personalized with your own template.
  3. Remember to add the {URL} parameter (click the button). Otherwise the link will not be added.

How to Add Confluence Comments to Shared Pages

  • Go to the Share It configuration menu (only admins)
  • Enable Comments in Shared Pages, and click Save
  • Now, all your shared pages will display the existing comments

How to Add Disqus Comments to Shared Pages

  • Go to the Share It configuration menu (only admins)
  • Enable Disqus comments in Shared Pages
  • Add the website name
    • You will find the website name in your Disqus configuration dashboard
    • Make sure you have configured your Website URL in Disqus too
  • Click save

Now, all your shared pages will have Disqus ready.