This documentation relates to the 5.2 release of Comala Workflows

 Documentation for other versions of Comala Workflows is available too.

Overview

This screen allows Space Admins to choose whether the space runs in Space Mode or Page Mode, and, if running in Space Mode, which workflows to apply to all content in the space.

If there is one or more workflows listed on the "Workflows Dashboard", the space is running in Space Mode, otherwise it's running in Page Mode. You can view templates for Page Mode by clicking the Page Workflows link on the Workflows Dashboard screen.

In Space Mode:

  • Enabled workflows (green) are automatically applied to all content in the space
  • If a workflow has filters (content and/or label parameters on the {workflow} macro), it will only be applied to content matching those filters
  • Workflows are applied in the order in which they appear on the list
  • Once a workflow has been applied to a piece of content, no other workflows will be considered for that piece of content

Add existing workflows

Click the "+ Add Workflow" button and choose from the available list of workflows.

The available workflows include those defined in Workflows - Global, and also any from Import - Space Tools.

Create a new workflow

There are two ways to create a workflow in the Workflows Dashboard:

  1. Click the "+ Add Workflow" button, then choose "Create your own workflow"
  2. From the Actions menu of an existing workflow in the workflow table, click "Copy"

Workflows table

A mockup of the table is shown below, with some details about the various elements:

Name
ScopeActions

Name of a Space scope workflow Edit workflow

Clicking on the or name to toggle description macro.

Space scope only: Hover over name to showEdit workflow (edit workflow).


Space

Actions Menu

› Workflow with a label

This workflow specifies a label – it will only apply to content with that label.

LABEL

Space

Actions Menu

› Global scope workflow

You can use workflows defined at the global level.

If you want to edit a Global workflow, you must make a copy of it and edit that.


Global

Actions Menu

See available Page Workflows | Global Workflows ← Global link only shown if you are a Confluence Admin

View button / Actions menu

Flowchart → Actions Menu ← Menu with more options

Option

What it does

As seen on...

ViewDisplays a flowchart of the workflowAll workflows
Edit

Opens the workflow editor.

See: Workflow Authoring Guide

Space scoped workflows
ActivateEnables a previously disabled workflow.Deactivated Space scope workflows
DisableDisables a currently active workflow.Active Space scoped workflows
Initialize States

Allows you to force content using the workflow in to a specific state.

Any active workflow
CopyCreates a disabled Space scoped copy of the workflowAll workflows
Remove

Removes the workflow from the list (sometimes causing it to be deleted)

All workflows

Remove Warning

If you add a workflow to this screen by copying an existing workflow, or creating a new workflow, then removing it will actually delete it (because it only exists on the Workflows Dashboard).

You'll get a warning like this: